In a normal world, we would be heading into a glorious weekend of racing spearheaded by two of motorsport’s crown jewels: the Monaco Grand Prix and the Indy 500!

Alas, we’ll have to make do with their virtual counterparts, but that doesn’t mean the action today and tomorrow won’t be worth a few hours of screen time, au contraire.

Here’s our Esports rundown of where and when the online commotion will unfold.

©FormulaE

Race at Home Challenge: Formula E’s online series heads to Berlin’s Templehof Airport where championship leader Pascal Wehrlein will be gunning for a third win. But the Mahindra charger will once again need to contend with BMW iAndretti’s Maximilian Guenther and Mercedes’ Stoffel Vandoorne, and another 21 drivers eager to boots their fortunes.

When: Saturday, at 3:30pm UK time (10:30am EST – 4:30pm CET).

Venue: Berlin – rFactor2

The field: All 24 regular Formula E drivers are scheduled to take part in the event.

Channel: Formula E website, Youtube, Facebook, Twitch


©TheRace

The Race All-Star Series: The Torque Esports-run series’ Legends Trophy will fill the void of the real-life Indy 500. The field of superstar veterans will swap its grid of Brabham BT44s for modern Dallara DW12 IndyCars, a change of environment that should allow the series’ more experienced oval races to put one over on the likes of Jenson Button or Emanuele Pirro, the championship leaders. The distinguished field of racers will also welcome Mr. legend himself, Indy 500 winner and 1978 F& world champion Mario Andretti. This is one event you will not want to miss.

When: Saturday 5pm UK time (12pm EST – 6pm CET)

Venue: Indianapolis Motor Speedway – rFactor2

The field: The Legends trophy is set to include the likes of Jenson Button, Emerson Fittipaldi, Rubens Barrichello, Jan Magnussen, and a plethora of IndyCar veterans such as Dario Franchitti, Juan Pablo Montoya, Helio Castro Neves and Esports rookie Mario Andretti!

Channel: The Race YouTube channel


Not the GP Series: Veloce Esports will conclude Saturday’s proceedings with its own Monaco GP, with several real-life F1 drivers on the grid.

When: Saturday 8pm UK time (3pm EST – 9pm CET)

Venue: Monaco – F1 2019

The field: Pro and sim racers will duke it out, with Charles Leclerc, Nicholas Latifi, Antono Giovinazzi, Jean-Eric Vergne, Thibaut Courtois, etc… expected to take part.

Channel: YouTube


©Codemasters

Virtual Grand Prix: Monaco baby! Formula 1’s virtual grid will line up in the streets of Monte Carlo for the Virtual Monaco Grand Prix that will likely deliver more than its fair share of thrills and spills. The action will unfold over 39 laps, with some interesting characters joining the fray and racing alongside eight current F1 drivers led by the usual quartet of front-runners, with Charles Leclerc, Alex Albon, Lando Norris and George Russell all running with their respective real-life teams. But Esteban Ocon and Valtteri Bottas will also step onto the virtual stage. Celebrity guest include Arsenal striker Pierre-Emerick Aubameyand (McLaren), surfer Kai Lenny (Red Bull), singer Luis Fonsi (Racing Point) and motorbike racer Luva Salvadori (AlphaTauri).

When: Sunday 6pm UK time (1pm EST – 7pm CET)

Venue: Monaco – F1 2019 Codemasters

The field: Charles Leclerc, Alex Albon, Lando Norris, George Russell, Nicholas Latifi, Antonio Giovinazzi, Esteban Ocon, Valtteri Bottas, Arthur Leclerc, etc…

Channel: Formula 1 YouTube, Twitch, Weibo, Huya and Facebook channels

The post Esports weekend: When and where to watch the action appeared first on F1i.com.