Arsenal striker Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang will join Formula 1’s Virtual Grand Prix grid on Sunday, racing at Monaco alongside McLaren’s Lando Norris.

Aubameyang is the latest international footballer to join the sport’s popular sim series which recently included Manchester City striker Sergio Aguero, racing for Red Bull, and Real Madrid goalie and F1 2019 regular Thibaut Courtois.

Aubameyang will have his work cut out for him, with his baptism of fire coming on the treacherous and unforgiving streets of Monte Carlo.

Norris will offer his expertise to the 30-year-old Gabonese international, but the McLaren charger lost no time putting his new teammate under pressure.

“You’d better be good, you’d better be fast,” joked Norris in a video clip posted by McLaren on Twitter.

“It’s a bit hard but I try to train every day,” replied the Arsenal forward who played for Monaco during the 2010-11 season. “Some turns are really, really hard.

“To tell the truth, I’m free every day,” he added. “I am training but then I have all day. The morning definitely I’m not there. But definitely I need some advice on the virtual thing…I need your help, bro.”

Next Sunday’s online battle will bring together the series usual suspects with, among others, Ferrari’s Charles Leclerc, Red Bull’s Alex Albon and Williams’ George Russell who won the previous round in Barcelona.

F1’s Virtual Monaco Grand Prix will kick off on Sunday at 6pm UK time (1pm EST – 7pm CET) and will be streamed live on F1’s YouTube, Twitch and Facebook channels.

Gallery: The beautiful wives and girlfriends of F1 drivers

Keep up to date with all the F1 news via Facebook and Twitter

The post McLaren recruits Aubameyang for Virtual Monaco GP appeared first on F1i.com.